Pie Crusts

Thanksgiving is fast approaching, and that means we get lots of questions at the store about pie crusts. I think everyone has had a horrible experience – Eric even suggested that maybe I better start practicing now so I’d get it right for the big day. There are hundreds of pie crust recipes available, but mostly I just use the basic Crisco recipe – I like to use part shortening and part butter. I’ve even made the recipe with all butter and it was really good.  The most important things to remember are: keep everything cold, and don’t over mix. It really helps to refrigerate the dough for an hour or so before you try rolling it out.

Equipment that we carry includes: maple rolling pins of various shapes and sizes, marble rolling pins, both silicone and cloth mats for rolling out the dough, little cookie cutters to use to make fancy crusts, rolling pin rings, and pie plates.

Have you got a favorite crust recipe or technique? Please share

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Pie Crusts

  1. I do have a “full proof” recipe that was my grannys that I use it makes two crusts
    3 cups flour
    1/2 t salt
    7 T. water well beaten with
    1 egg
    1 t vinegar
    1 c Crisco

    mix everything then cut in the Crisco and like you advised, keep it cool and don’t over work, I ref. it before rolling it, wrapped in Saran Wrap it will stay for over a week.

Leave a Reply

